Burberry

About Burberry

In the world of traditional fashion houses, which is clearly dominated by French and Italian brands, the British Burberry is an exception. The identity of the brand is practically synonymous with the famous check pattern and stands for exceptional quality. Not surprisingly, Burberry has been purveyor to the royal court since 1955. The Queen of England is one of the brand's longstanding and loyal customers.

A young pioneer

Founded by the 21-year-old textile merchant Thomas Burberry in 1856, his boutique initially mainly offered outerwear. The businessman turned out to be an extremely inventive mind, able to translate his experience and ideas into concrete products. In 1880 he developed the gabardine fabric, which is still characteristic today. Made of cotton, this fabric shines with its robustness and breathable properties. The yarn is impregnated before weaving, which makes the fabric waterproof. Eight years later, Thomas Burberry successfully patented his invention and a period of international expansion began.

Fame and adventure

He gained greater fame and reputation with the development of a new coat, which he designed as clothing for officers on behalf of the British military administration. He used an already existing Burberry coat and added epaulets, belts and D-rings: the trench coat was born. Due to the waterproof material, this new type of coat was not only suitable for military purposes, but also for other adventures under difficult conditions. Unsurprisingly, the Antarctic expedition of 1910 also opted for the Burberry trench coat. The famous plaid pattern, unmistakable Burberry trademark, was finally introduced in the 1920s. In the 1960s, the trench coat became famous in various films by Audrey Hepburn, Humphrey Bogart and Peter and thus laid the foundation for further popularity. It was during these years that the brand's prestige reached a peak.

Menopause and Comeback

That momentum was lost in the early 2000s. The product range was massively expanded and everything from bikini to household items was sold under the Burberry brand. Suddenly, the classic check pattern was the uniform of football hooligans instead of a prestigious item of clothing. At this point, Burberry had lost its identity and it was unclear what the brand actually stood for. Under the direction of Angela Ahrendts, the 30% products were initially discontinued and the brand regained its exclusivity. Together with the chief designer Christopher Bailey, the old shine could be brought back to life.

Our Burberry range

The search returns no results.

Burberry authenticity check

You can recognize an original bag from the Burberry brand by these features.

Customers often think that if a “Burberry” bag says “Burberrys” it must be a fake. This is far from it! Both spellings can clearly be an indication of the originality of a Burberry or Burberry bag. It all started in 1856 with the name of the founder and draper Thomas Burberry. A short time later, the name was changed to “Burberrys of London” - short for “Burberrys”. With the collections from 1999, only the name “Burberry” is used again.

Most of the bags from Burberry that are offered secondhand date after 1999. The entire Burberry lettering is in a very classic font and is made up of all capital letters. Each letter has certain characteristics, which are often not properly implemented in a forgery.

«B» - The lower part (belly) of the «B» is slightly larger (more bulbous) than the upper part

«U» - The left line of the «U» is slightly thicker than the right one

«R» - The end of the «R» has a slight curve upwards

«E» - The bottom line of the «E» is slightly longer than the top one

"Y" - The same applies here as for the "U" - the left part of the letter is also slightly thicker than the right.

A large number of Burberry bags are made in the classic and world-famous checked pattern, also known as "check". The color scheme and the thickness of the lines used differ depending on the collection. The classic colors, however, are beige, black and red! On original Burberry bags, the check pattern is always perfectly symmetrical. The pattern also «moves» across the pocket in one «pour». In other words, the pattern is not restarted after a seam or an attached pocket. Furthermore, the individual large stripes in the check pattern also consist of fine stripes / lines themselves. These run diagonally to the actual pattern. The fabric itself is impregnated and completely water-repellent or very resistant!

Different materials are used for the labels inside the bag. These vary depending on the bag model. The Burberry logo is also shown in the interior on these labels and can vary from rectangular to oval. This makes it difficult to use the labels as an authenticity feature.

However, certain features are essential in an original Burberry bag. Every label, whether oval or rectangular, is always attached neatly and symmetrically or straight. The labels are either finely sewn in or even glued in. There is also a patch in the interior of an original Burberry bag, which indicates the place of production. Burberry bags used to be produced exclusively in Italy. Today they are produced in a wide variety of countries around the world. Today's collections at Burberry all have a label which, in addition to the place of production, also contains an item number and material information.

 

Your questions about Burberry secondhand handbags, our answers.

We have compiled a list of the most frequently asked questions about our Burberry secondhand handbags and our answers.

The classic pattern from Burberry is called “nova check”. This nova check pattern comes from the 1920s.
The classic pouch, which is similar to a Louis Vuitton Noé, has unfortunately not been manufactured for a long time.

In 2018, Burberry caused a scandal with the destruction of new goods worth tens of millions. Since then, the brand has radically committed itself to sustainability and is now one of the pioneers among fashion houses. For some time now, recycled materials have been used more and more. Some of these are obtained from old fishing nets, scraps of fabric and industrial plastics.

All older models were made exclusively in Italy and are marked with the "Made in Italy" logo. New models of Burberry bags are now also being manufactured in other countries around the world.

Burberry offers a selected range of repair services for handbags, small leather utensils and outerwear. Visit a store near you.
The material of the check pattern of a real Burberry bag is impregnated and therefore completely water-repellent and very resistant!
Depending on the collection, the checked pattern of a Burberry handbag differs in the color scheme and in the design of the thickness of the lines used. The classic colors, however, are beige, black and red.

No, you can rest assured! Both spellings can clearly be an indication of the originality of a Burberry or Burberry bag. It all started in 1856 with the name of the founder and draper Thomas Burberry. A short time later, the name was changed to “Burberrys of London” - short for “Burberrys”. With the collections from 1999 only the name “Burberry” is used.

At Burberry, as with other brands, a more striking metal detail on the front of a handbag, which is modeled on the bridle (mouthpiece) of a horse, is regarded as “horsebit”. Depending on this, this also serves as a closure.

Short explanation

Quality levels

Quality level A

As good as new

The item is in excellent condition. It is either an exhibition model, outlet or a one-off piece that has only been worn very rarely. The bag shows no signs of use, but can contain fine storage damage (fine, barely visible scratches).

Quality level B

Slight signs of wear

The article is in very good condition and shows only slight signs of wear (e.g. slight discoloration of the natural leather, slight scratches, hardly visible stains). There are no major scratches or stains.

Quality level C

Secondhand

The article has been worn several times and shows visible signs of wear. There may be larger scratches and smaller stains, which are declared in the description and the photos.

Quality level D

Loved & Lived

The article was worn with love and shows clear signs of use. There may be larger scratches and stains, which are individually declared in the photos and description.

Purchase on invoice

When ordering on account, you have the option of paying the invoice in full or in installments. You can conveniently only decide when you receive the invoice. The payment period is always 14 days. Please note that we work together with our financing partner MF Group AG when purchasing on account. The entire collection and dunning process is handled by our partner, who also carries out an identity and credit check. Since fraudulent orders on account occur repeatedly, an additional confirmation with an SMS code is necessary for amounts of CHF 1000 or more. 

Full amount

Would you like to pay the invoice amount in full?

For the transfer, please take the empty payment slip and enter the total invoice amount.

Installment payments

Would you like to pay the invoice amount in installments and transfer the absolute minimum?

Please enter the desired payment amount in the empty payment slip. The minimum payment amount is 10% of the value of the goods. If you make a partial payment, you will receive an invoice every month until the entire amount has been paid. The outstanding amount increases by 1% every month. The amount to be paid can be selected for each installment.

Burberry

Über Burberry

In der Welt der traditionsreichen Modehäuser, die klar von französischen und italienischen Marken dominiert wird, ist die britische Burberry eine Ausnahmerscheinung. Die Identität der Marke ist praktisch gleichbedeutend mit dem berühmten Karomuster und steht für aussergewöhnliche Qualität. Nicht überraschend ist Burberry seit 1955 königlicher Hoflieferant. Die Queen von England gehört damit zur den langjährigen und treuen Kundschaft der Marke.

Ein junger Pionier

Gegründet vom 21-jährigem Textilkaufmann Thomas Burberry im Jahr 1856, wurden in seiner Boutique zu Beginn vor allem Oberbekleidung angeboten. Der Kaufmann entpuppte sich als äusserst erfinderischen Geist, der seine Erfahrung und Ideen in konkrete Produkte ummünzen konnte. 1880 entwickelte er den auch heute noch charakteristischen Stoff Gabardine. Aus Baumwolle gefertigt, brilliert dieser Stoff durch seine Robustheit und atmungsaktive Eigenschaften. Das Garn wird vor dem Weben bereits imprägniert, was den Stoff wasserdicht macht. Acht jahre später hat Thomas Burberry seine Erfindung erfolgreich patentiert und es begann bereits eine Zeit der internationalen Expansion.

Ruhm und Abenteuer

Grössere Bekanntheit und Ansehen erwarb er mit der Entwicklung eines neuen Mantels, welchen er im Auftrag der britischen Militärverwaltung als Bekleidung für Offiziere entwarf. Dabei verwendete er einen bereits bestehenden Burberry Mantel und ergänzte in mit Schulterklappen, Gürtel und D-Ringen: Der Trenchcoat war geboren. Aufgrund des wasserdichten Materials eignete sich dieser neuartige Mantel nicht nur für militärische Zwecke, sondern auch für andere Abenteuer unter erschwerten Bedingungen. Wenig überraschend setzte auch die Antarktis Expedition von 1910 auf den Burberry Trenchcoat. Das berühmte Karo-Muster, unverwechselbares Markenzeichen von Burberry, wurde schliesslich in den 1920er Jahren eingeführt. In den 1960er Jahren gelangte der Trenchcoat in diversen Filmen von Audrey Hepburn, Humphrey Bogart und Peter zu Berühmtheit und legte damit den Grundstein für die weitere Popularität. In diesen Jahren erreichte das Prestige der Marke einen Höhepunkt.

Wechseljahre und Comeback

Dieses Momentum ging in den frühen 2000er verloren. Die Produktpalette wurde massiv ausgeweitet und es wurden vom Bikini bis zu Haushaltsgegenständen alle möglichen Gegenstände unter der Marke Burberry verkauft. Plötzlich war das klassische Karo-Muster die Uniform von Fussball Hooligans, statt prestigeträchtiges Kleidungsstück. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hat Burberry seine Identität verloren und es war unklar wofür die Marke überhaupt steht. Unter der Leitung von Angela Ahrendts wurden zunächst 30% der Produkte eingestellt und die Marke eroberte sich ihre Exklusivität zurück. Zusammen mit dem Chefdesigner Christopher Bailey konnte der alte Glanz wieder erweckt werden.

Unser Burberry Sortiment

Die Suche ergibt keine Ergebnisse.

Burberry Echtheitscheck

An diesen Merkmalen erkennst Du eine originale Tasche der Marke Burberry.

Oft meinen Kunden, dass wenn auf einer «Burberry» Tasche «Burberrys» steht, so muss es sich zwingend um eine Fälschung handeln. Dies ist weit gefehlt! Beide Schreibweisen können klar ein Indiz auf die Originalität einer Burberry oder eben Burberrys Tasche sein. Angefangen hat im Jahr 1856 alles mit dem Namen des Gründers sowie Tuchmachers Thomas Burberry. Bereits kurze Zeit später wurde der Name in «Burberrys of London» – Kurzform einfach «Burberrys» – geändert. Mit den Kollektionen aus dem Jahr 1999 wird wieder nur noch der Name «Burberry» verwendet.

Die meisten Taschen von Burberry, welche secondhand angeboten werden stammen nach 1999. Der  gesamte Burberry Schriftzug ist in einer sehr klassischen Schrift gehalten und ist aus lauter Grossbuchstaben geschrieben. Jeder Buchstabe für sich besitzt gewisse Merkmale, welche bei einer Fälschung oft nicht sauber umgesetzt sind.

«B» – Der untere Teil (Bauch) des «B» ist minimal grösser (bauchiger) als der obere Teil

«U» – Der linke Strich des «U» ist gering dicker als der rechte

«R» – Das Ende des «R» hat eine leichte Krümmung nach oben

«E» – Der unterste Strich des «E» ist etwas länger als der obere

«Y» – Hier gilt das Selbe wie beim «U» – ebenfalls ist hier der linke Teil des Buchstabens gering dicker als der rechte.

Eine grosse Anzahl von Burberry Taschen ist in dem klassischen sowie weltbekannten Karomuster, auch «check» genannt, gehalten. Je nach Kollektion unterscheidet sich dessen Farbschema sowie die Ausgestaltung der Dicke der verwendeten Linien. Die klassischen Farben sind jedoch beige, schwarz und rot! Bei originalen Burberry Taschen ist das Karomuster immer vollkommen symmetrisch angebracht. Das Muster «bewegt» sich auch über die Tasche in einem «Guss». Sprich, dass Muster wird nach einer Naht oder aufgesetzten Tasche nicht neu gestartet. Des Weiteren bestehen die einzelnen grossen Streifen im Karomuster auch selbst aus feinen Streifen/Strichen. Diese verlaufen diagonal zum eigentlichen Muster. Der Stoff an sich ist imprägniert und vollkommen wasserabweisend bzw. sehr widerstandsfähig!

Es werden unterschiedliche Materialien für die Etiketten im Tascheninnenraum verwendet. Diese variieren je nach Taschenmodell. Auf diesen Etiketten wird das Burberry Logo auch im Innenraum gezeigt und könne können von rechteckig bis hin zu oval variieren. Dies macht es schwierig die Etiketten an sich als Echtheitsmerkmal heranzuziehen.

Gewisse Merkmale sind aber dennoch unumgänglich bei einer originalen Burberry Tasche. Jede Etikette, ob oval oder rechteckig, ist immer sauber sowie symmetrisch bzw. Gerade befestigt. Entweder sind die Etiketten fein eingenäht oder gar eingeklebt. Ebenfalls im Innenraum einer originalen Burberry Tasche ist ein Aufnäher vorhanden, welcher den Ort der Produktion nennt. Früher wurden Burberry Taschen ausschliesslich in Italien produziert. Heute werden sie in den unterschiedlichsten Ländern rund um den Erdball hergestellt. Die heutigen Kollektionen bei Burberry verfügen alle über eine Etikette, welche neben dem Ort der Produktion auch eine Artikelnummer sowie Materialinformationen enthalten.

 

Deine Fragen zu Burberry Secondhand Handtaschen, unsere Antworten.

Wir haben Dir eine Auflistung der am häufigst gestellten Fragen zu unseren Burberry Secondhand Handtaschen und unsere Antworten dazu erstellt.

Das klassische Muster von Burberry nennt sich «nova check». Dieses nova check Muster stammt aus den 1920er Jahren.
Die klassische Beuteltasche, wie sie einer Louis Vuitton Noé ähnelt, wird leider seit geraumer Zeit nicht mehr hergestellt.

Im Jahr 2018 sorgte Burberry mit der Vernichtung von neuwertigen Waren im Wert von einem zweistelligen Millionenbetrag für einen Skandal. Seither hat sich die Marke radikal der Nachhaltigkeit verschrieben und gehört nun zu den Vorreitern unter den Modehäusern. Es werden seit geraumer Zeit immer öfter recycelte Materialien verwendet. Diese werden teils alte Fischernetze, Stoffreste und Industriekunststoffe gewonnen.

Alle älteren Modelle wurden ausschliesslich in Italien gefertigt und sind mit einem „Made in Italy“ Schriftzug versehen. Neue Modelle der Burberry Taschen werden inzwischen auch in anderen Ländern rund um den Globus hergestellt.

Burberry bietet ein ausgewähltes Angebot an Reparaturleistungen für Handtaschen, kleine Lederutensilien und Oberbekleidung an. Besuchen Sie einen Store in Ihrer Nähe.
Das Material des Karomuster einer echten Burberry Tasche ist imprägniert und demzufolge vollkommen wasserabweisend bzw. sehr widerstandsfähig!
Je nach Kollektion unterscheidet sich das Karomuster einer Burberry Handtasche im Farbschema sowie in der Ausgestaltung der Dicke der verwendeten Linien. Die klassischen Farben sind jedoch beige, schwarz und rot.

Nein, du kannst ganz beruhigt sein! Beide Schreibweisen können klar ein Indiz auf die Originalität einer Burberry oder eben Burberrys Tasche sein. Angefangen hat im Jahr 1856 alles mit dem Namen des Gründers sowie Tuchmachers Thomas Burberry. Bereits kurze Zeit später wurde der Name in «Burberrys of London» – Kurzform einfach «Burberrys» – geändert. Mit den Kollektionen aus dem Jahr 1999 wird nur noch der Name «Burberry» verwendet.

Als «Horsebit» wird bei Burberry, wie übrigens auch bei anderen Marken, ein markanteres Metalldetail auf der Vorderseite einer Handtasche angesehen, welches dem Zaumzeug (Mundstück) eines Pferdes nachempfunden ist. Je nach dem dient dieses auch gleich als Verschluss.

Kauf auf Rechnung

Bei einer Bestellung auf Rechnung haben Sie die Möglichkeit, die Rechnung vollständig oder in Raten zu bezahlen. Sie entscheiden ganz bequem erst beim Erhalt der Rechnung. Die Zahlungsfrist beträgt immer 14-Tage. Bitte beachte, dass wir bei Kauf auf Rechnung mit unserem Finanzierungspartner Powerpay zusammenarbeiten. Das gesamte Inkasso- und Mahnwesen wird dabei von unserem Partner abgewickelt, welcher auch einen Identität- und Bonitätscheck durchführt. Da wiederholt betrügerische Bestellungen auf Rechnung vorkommen ist ab einem Betrag von CHF 1000.- eine zusätzliche Bestätigung mit einem SMS Code notwendig sein. 

Kompletter Betrag

Sie möchten den Rechnungsbetrag komplett bezahlen?

Nehmen Sie für die Überweisung bitte den leeren Einzahlungsschein und tragen Sie den totalen Rechnungsbetrag ein.

Ratenzahlung

Sie möchten den Rechnungsbetrag in Raten bezahlen und dabei das absolute Minimum überweisen?

Bitte tragen sie den gewünschten Zahlungsbetrag in den leeren Einzahlungsschein ein. Der minimale Zahlungsbetrag ist 10% des Warenwerts. Wenn Sie eine Teilzahlung vornehmen, erhalten Sie jeden Monat eine Rechnung bis der gesamte Betrag beglichen ist. Der offene Betrag erhöht sich dabei jeden Monat um 1%. Der zu bezahlende Betrag kann bei jeder Rate neu gewählt werden. Pro Rechnung wird von Powerpay zusätzlich eine Bearbeitungsgebühr von CHF 2.90 (Post) oder CHF 1.90 (E-Mail) verrechnet.